Yesterdays 

You know what’s sad? Empty tomorrows. I can deal with sad yesterdays; every day is a step away, whether you want it that way or not. But the empty tomorrows are what hurts. 

Giving thanks has the flip side of remembering many things. This year, I thought of my many friends who are gone… I think of laughs we will never have again, stories never known by others, just one-sided now. Sometimes I still have stories I want to share, but realize that I can’t. 

I’m grateful for what I had, but there is no joy or peace, and perhaps there shouldn’t be. Not because of a heaven, but because grief is real, and not to be reasoned away. 

I’m grateful for the love I have now, and for the man giving it to me. I’m grateful for yesterday, no matter how distant that day is becoming in our rear view mirrors. 

But tomorrow is filled with days where we learn to live without. 

1 thought on “Yesterdays 

  1. L - Mama(e) in Translation

    I’m still grieving, but what you said is actually terrifying. Are we going to be grieving for over 1000 days? With new reasons to grieve every few days? That is unbearable to think of. Yeah, no joy and no peace about tomorrow. Sigh…

    Reply

Leave a comment